Adobong Bicol

There are so many versions of Filipino Adobo but my most favorite is my Mom’s and this Adobong Bicol – Pork Belly boiled in water, garlic, bay leaves and fish sauce.

I first tasted this in my mother-in-law’s house and I fell in love with it so she taught me how to cook it. Then I tasted the authentic one in Bicol from my father-in-law’s house. This is super yum with heaps of steamed white rice. Best eaten with bare hands and one foot up on a chair.   What’s different about Adobong Bicol?   Normally, Adobo is boiled with vinegar, salt, garlic and laurel (bay leaves) but Adobong Bicol is boiled with water, fish sauce, garlic and bay leaves only. No vinegar or soy sauce in this Adobo!!! 


Adobong Bicol Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

1 kilogram (2 pounds) pork belly, cubed

2 cups water, add some more when needed

1 garlic bulb, peeled and minced

2 bay leaves

3 tablespoons fish sauce

2 tablespoons cooking oil

How to Make Adobong Bicol?

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Boil 1 kg cubed pork belly in 2 cups water with 1 garlic bulb (minced), 2 bay leaves and 3 tablespoons fish sauce in medium-high heat.  

2. Once boiled, reduce the heat to medium until the meat is tender, about 45 minutes. Add water when needed.  

3. When the sauce is reduced, add oil and fry pork belly until its brown.  

4. Serve with steamed white rice.  

Share and enjoy this Adobong Bicol with family and friends!

Did you make this Adobong Bicol? Please leave us a comment below.


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

One response to “Adobong Bicol”

Leave a Reply