Asparagus, Avocado and Tomato Salad

Eating fresh asparagus is very new to me. Yes, for those of you who don’t know, you could asparagus without cooking it. I just learned it this week when I tried a new recipe with prawns and couscous. I was so hesitant at first but when I took a bite, I like its crunchiness and I could feel its freshness bursting into my mouth. Last year, I was so happy to learned that you could also eat white fresh button mushrooms! I so love mushrooms!!! I could eat mushrooms for a week.

This is actually my original recipe (Disclaimer: I didn’t copy this recipe from anybody else’s but if there’s a recipe out there that is the same as this one, it probably just a coincidence). These are all just the ingredients I got from my fridge and so I toss them all and voila, I created my own salad recipe! I love how proud I was in making this and claiming it’s my own. Well, salad is usually boring and I got to admit that posting a salad recipe is not that interesting as well. But for people just like me, who likes to try different combinations of food and still learning about healthy food, searching for salad recipes is still a challenge, and this post will be helpful for them.

One thing I’ve learned in making salad is that LESS INGREDIENT is BETTER. Probably 3-5 vegetables/fruits in a bowl is better than getting over board. Dressing is important, it brings excellent flavor to your usual tasteless salad (especially the lettuces), but if you’re trying to lose weight, I recommend sticking to low calorie balsamic vinegar or mix 1 Tbsp olive oil to lemon juice, or simply squeeze lemon juice on top of your salad, and it’ll be fine!

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups of baby lettuce
half of avocado, cubed
1 cup cherry tomato, halved
2 spears asparagus, thinly sliced
1 Tbsp. Balsamic Vinegar
pinch of salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Put baby lettuce on a plate or bowl, start adding the thin slices of fresh asparagus, topped with cherry tomatoes and avocado.

2. Add the dressing (balsamic vinegar) and season with salt and pepper.

3. Serve and enjoy!!!

Original Recipe: A Slice of Kate

Leave a Reply